Closed Championships Entries

Bury TT Championships 2017 - Important Notice & Entries So Far

Sunday April 2nd at Hulme Grammar School Sports Hall, Chamber Road, Oldham, OL8 4DJ

*Note the venue is the sports hall - not the grammar school*

To find the venue if you are coming up chamber road as it starts to get steep look out for slightly recessed gate posts on your left hand side - the hall is through those posts. When coming up the steep hill if you reach the traffic lights you have gone too far. Alternatively if you are coming down chamber road go through the lights and the recessed posts are about 30 yards on your right hand side.

The car park can hold about 30 cars - we have 68 entrants so if you aren’t early you will struggle to get on the car park in which case you will need to park on the surrounding streets.

I will arrive approximately 8.00 so you can turn up any time after that. We do NOT have access to the venue the day before and setting up will be done on the morning so if you have 15 minutes to spare please arrive early (a) to bag a car parking space, and (b) to assist with setting up.

The order of play (approx) is:

9.00am Open Singles Group Stages*
11.30am Doubles
12noon Juniors, 50’s & Super Veterans
1.30pm Divisional Handicaps
1.30pm Continuation of all events

*7 players - Barry Elliott, Steve Scowcroft, Dave Scowcroft, Majid Tubassum, Khamal Hussain, Graham Jeffries & Mark Ramsbottom are exempt from the group stages and should arrive in time for their 1st doubles match.

**Joe Evans, Jack Evans, Jenna Roach, Mark Reading & Ken Crimes have not entered the open singles so don’t need to be there ready to start playing at 9. Everybody else does.

These times are approximate and will be adjusted slightly dependant on the speed of previous events. The times are not rigid. If you have a match to play and you can see your opponent stood around and there is an empty table, talk to me, grab your scorecard and get on with it!

The format for events is:

Open Singles: Groups of 4 or 5. Top 2 progressing to a straight KO played up to semi final stage.

Doubles, Over 50’s, Division 1 Handicap, Division 2 Handicap - Straight KO played to a finish.

Super Veterans - Straight KO played up to the final. The final is played on finals night.

Division 3, 4 & 5 handicap. Groups of 3 or 4 with the top 2 progressing to KO stages and played to a finish.

Juniors. 4 Groups of 4, Top 2 advance to quarter finals. Semi’s & Finals to be played on finals night.

Finals night will be on Tuesday 4th April at Elton Vale Sports Club, BL8 2RZ from 7pm

Fees - The fee’s for the championships are £4 for the 1st event you enter and £3 for all subsequent events. Juniors get 1 event for free. Pay on the day at the door as you arrive.

Below is a list of entrants, the events you are in and the amounts due. If you aren’t on the list I don’t have your entry so please get in touch so I can shoehorn you into the draws.

Trophies - If you won one of the main trophies last year (the one’s that have to be returned annually) then please feel free to bring it with you on Sunday and give it me back ready for Tuesday’s finals night.

As for Finals night as always the Junior Semi Finals will open play at 7pm and the night will finish with a best of 7 sets for the open singles title. After that all trophies will be presented. As always for finals night there will be a collection plate on the door and a voluntary contribution is requested but not essential. Hot food will be available as always, served at around 8.30pm.

Important - We always present trophies after the finals so the presentations tend to begin around 10pm. Every year without fail I get an e-mail the morning after from a parent saying it was too late on a school night for their child. When we have the hot food interval (approx 8.30) if you want your trophy presenting then please talk to me on the night and this is fine.

For those unable to attend finals night it will be live streamed - there will be an e-mail on Monday or Tuesday next week advising you of where you can watch it. Some of the later matches on Sunday will also be live streamed via the leagues facebook page. If you are not a member of the leagues facebook page you can join it here: or by searching for Bury & District table tennis league.

Any questions or queries please feel free to call on 07808 863 834

Bury TT Match Secretary / Overlord

Name Club Open Singles Over 50's Over 60's Div 1 H'Cap Div 2 H'Cap Div 3 H'Cap Div 4 H'Cap Div 5 H'Cap Juniors Doubles Doubles Partner
Liaqat Ali Polish Club Steve Collins
Steve Collins Prestwich Liaqat Ali
Scott Fleming Shawfield
Majid Tubassum Ramsbottom Khamal Hussain
Khamal Hussain Ramsbottom Majid Tubassum
Adam Gilman Maccabi Robert Dexter
Robert Dexter Maccabi Adam Gilman
Derek Watmough Coburg Wanted
Barry Elliott Carlton Club
Ian McKenzie Seedfield
Joe Emery Ramsbottom Academy
Jack Evans Ramsbottom Academy
Joe Evans Ramsbottom Academy
Jenna Roach Ramsbottom Academy
Sana Khalil Seedfield Saba Khalil
Jack Dunning Ramsbottom Mark Dunning
Mohammed Sagied Ramsbottom
Mark Dunning Ramsbottom Jack Dunning
Jimmy Bollard Prestwich Wanted
Jordan Potts Flixton Tony Bates
Mark Ramsbottom Ramsbottom Ben Armstrong
Sophie Newton OTTC
David End Maccabi
Oliver Wilcock Seedfield
Ken Crimes Prestwich
Dave Holmes Shawfield Brian Hallsworth
Ian Quinn Carlton Club
Tony Bates Flixton Jordan Potts
Martin Wyatt Ramsbottom Steve Barber
Keith Howarth Ramsbottom Ian Lloyd
Brian Hallsworth Prestwich Dave Holmes
Ben Armstrong Burning Desire Mark Ramsbottom
Maz Khan Seedfield Jason Wild
Jason Wild Seedfield Maz Khan
Matthew Edmondson Seedfield Corey Wild
Corey Wild Seedfield Matthew Edmondson
Marian Bleho White Eagle Wanted
Steve Barber Little Lever Martin Wyatt
Sam Jeffries Seedfield Graham Jeffries
Graham Jeffries Little Lever Sam Jeffries
Steve Scowcroft Prestwich Dave Scowcroft
Dave Scowcroft Prestwich Steve Scowcroft
Dennis Bradshaw Carlton Club Tim Vaughan
Bob Bent Carlton Coburg
Sam Wells Maccabi Daniel Sheldon
Ian Lloyd Ramsbottom Town D Partner Wanted
Tommy Ryan Carlton Club B
Reece Bond Ramsbottom Academy Freddie Hughes
Thomas Hurst Seedfield E Nathan Faun
Nathan Faun Seedfield E Thomas Hurst
Freddie Hughes Ramsbottom Academy Reece Bond
Stuart Landes Maccabi A Dean Clyne
Dean Clyne Maccabi A Stuart Landes
Agata Sankiewycz White Eagle A Ivan Kouril
Sam Kerschner Maccabi Oliver Levine
Oliver Levine Maccabi Sam Kerschner
Adele Spibey Ramsbottom Town David Cain
David Cain Ramsbottom Town Adele Spibey
Paul King Midges TTC Matthew Evans
Steve Hathaway Prestwich TTC Jacob Reilly Cooper
Carol Mitchell Elton Vale ELPM A Stuart Carter
Stuart Carter Elton Vale ELPM A Carol Mitchell
Miles Benjamin Prestwich TTC A Nadeem Ahmed
Nadeem Ahmed Prestwich TTC A Miles Benjamin
Mark Reading Carlton Club D
Daniel Sheldon Maccabi B Sam Wells
Matthew Evans Midges TTC Paul King
Ian Cockcroft Elton Vale SC Paul Carter
Paul Carter Elton Vale SC Ian Cockcroft
Jacob Reilly Cooper Prestwich TTC C Steve Hathaway
Ivan Kouril White Eagle Agata Sankiewycz
Alistair McKinnon Ramsbottom Academy
Tim Vaughan Burning Desire Dennis Bradshaw